Ending | The Last of Us: Left Behind (2014)

I already wrote about my feelings about The Last of Us ending and right now there’s little I can add. Since those lines, I’ve finished the game two more times and still gives me the same feelings. For me, it’s a masterpiece. The game was also a massive success so the question about a possible sequel was always in the air. In 2014 Naughty Dog released a little DLC called Left Behind that tells events previous to original game’s Joel and Ellie first meeting and also some event occurred during winter, previous to one of the most remembered chapters of the game. But they never talked about a hypothetical continuation after that “Ok”. During the following months there was debate between the people who wanted to leave the story with that ending and the people who wanted a direct continuation. Honestly, I preferred not returning to the story of Joel and Ellie, probably afraid of a sequel that couldn’t surpass the original or add something substantial. But I was probably wrong. I think that I’ve already seen The Last of Us Part II teaser more than twenty times and I think it’s one of the best trailers I’ve seen, absolutely perfect. I’ll have to trust Neil Druckmann, Ashley Johnson, Troy Baker and all the Naughty Dog team when they say that they know what they’re doing.

But that sequel is still too far to worry about it and I don’t want to know or watch more. I’m not even sure if it will be present during next week’s Sony’s E3 press conference. Today is about that little DLC mentioned before, Left Behind. I’ve already shared some moments or captures. The game combines two timelines, one focused on the story of Ellie and Riley which is purely narrative with interaction focused in building the story, and the second one showing Ellie trying to save Joel and fighting against humans, infected or both (one of the DLC addition to original’s gameplay). Ellie and Riley story is an extension of what Ellie tells in one of the best moments of The Last of Us, when Ellie runs away and hides in a ranch. It’s the story about her relationship with Riley, the good moments they had, the way she learnt what a loss means… and how she got infected and she thought her life was going to end. And all those moment she lived made her the Ellie we know later on the original game, strong but distrustful, independent but loyal. Can’t wait to play the second part.

Leave a Reply

