Gameplay | Little Nightmares (2017)

After finishing Full Throttle and What Remains of Edith Finch, I continue playing more short (and delightful) games that have been released recently, which are the ones I’m enjoying more in my current mood. This time, Little Nightmares, the game developed by Tarsier Studios and released for multiple platforms past week.

Tarsier Studios previous work includes games like Vita version of LittleBigPlanet (often considered the best game of the saga), Rag Doll Kung Fu: Fists of Plastic or collaboration with Media Molecule in Tearaway Unfolded. So, they after lot of collaborations they finally have released a more personal game, after the failed (but never cancelled), “City of Metronome“.

Right now I’ve finished the first two levels (a little more than two hours) of the game and I’ve enjoyed it so far. I usually try to make as less comparisons with other titles as possible, but it’s very obvious that the game has similarities with games like Playdead’s Limbo or Inside (by the way, I’m preparing something more about this one, hoping to post soon). But curiously, the first thing that caught my attention was that the main character starts the adventure getting out of a bag, something the reminded me one little french movie, Innocence (Lucile Hadzihalilovic, 2004), based on Frank Wedekind novel “Mine-Haha, or On the Bodily Education of Young Girls”. In that movie, young girls got to the first school day inside boxes.

Once I started playing, the game is based on solving little puzzles and avoiding enemies. For what I have played, puzzles are nice, not specially difficult and probably a bit smaller in focus compared to some I found in Inside. The art has some similarities with another french movie, this time more well-known, The City of Lost Children (Jean-Pierre Jeunet and Marc Caro, 1995). This also brings a question: is it possible to make a game like this with another setting, less creepy and dark? I like dark settings, but it could be nice.

If you like games that the ones I’ve mentioned before, with intriguing stories and beautiful (dark) art, I would recommend this game. Here you can watch the first complete of the game, “The Prison”:

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan Holt says:

    I see you’ve mentioned INSIDE here. Should I be expecting the same sort of thing from Little Nightmares, or is there more too it than that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GamingPicks says:

      From what I’ve played (first two levels), I find some similarities. Creepy atmosphere, puzzle based gameplay (including physics), intriguing premise and enemy avoiding mechanics. In Little Nightmares there’s some deep in movements, as you can go to the back or front, you aren’t limited to side scroll… but in the end, it also is a side scrolling experience for the most part. Waiting for your impressions if you finally play it. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

      1. Dan Holt says:

        Oh I’ll definitely play it. I’m just waiting for a lull in releases at the moment. The early part of the year has been absolutely manic. I’m still working my way through Nier and whenever I’ve got a spare moment, I’m entirely addicted to Player Unknowns Battleground’s.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

