Gameplay | What Remains of Edith Finch (2017)

Looking at other posts of this blog, it’s easy to see that I really enjoy light adventure games like The Vanishing of Ethan Carter, Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture, Virginia, pioneers like Gone Home (or Dear Esther, that I’ve played this year) or one of my favorite games of past year, Firewatch. I know that this kind of games are often a bit controversial, but I think that the combination of beautiful locations and landscapes, the stories they tell and the more relaxed gameplay, fit perfectly in my gaming habits, because I can’t always be playing really demanding games. I also enjoyed The Unfinished Swan, the game developed by Giant Sparrow that took everybody by surprise in 2012, with a really original and unforgettable first level, but also with a nice little story and the original way the told it.

With this background, I was really expecting to play Giant Sparrow’s second project, What Remains of Edith Finch. The game have had a long development, including a publisher change from Sony to the new and really promising Annapurna Interactive, the gaming division of Annapurna Pictures. Since it was announced I’ve tried to be in complete media blackout, so, I’ve bought it knowing nothing about the game. That could be risky, but when the game delivers, it really worths it. And after playing more than an hour I can say that What Remains of Edith Finch is already one of my favorite games on this genre.

Trying to keep spoilers at minimum and from what I can tell after playing that bit, the game follows the story of Edith Finch while returning to the old Finch Family’s house, where she’ll discover stories about her ancestors and other members of her family, including herself. The house itself is fascinating, with lots of little details, but where the game really shines is recreating those stories, with different mechanics and styles, lots of imagination and making you think about what’s real and what isn’t.

Yesterday, I streamed live the first moments of the game, with a limit of 30-45 minutes because I didn’t want to spoil it too much. I think that I cut the stream in the perfect moment, just showing one of family’s stories, because just after that the game features two great moments, especially the second one. I will share it soon, maybe in 3-4 weeks, and write more about it, but it’s an amazing moment that everybody should enjoy, not just watch.

As you probably missed it, here you can watch yesterday’s stream again:

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Great write up! One of the games I’m most looking forward to playing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GamingPicks says:

      Thank you! Still early, but can’t wait to play more and know what’s going next. This game has some really fascinating moments.

      Like

      1. Since early footage I have been fascinated by this game. I’m a big fan of this genre of game and Edith Finch looks like a new spin on the genre.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mr. Panda says:

    Ooh! I’m going to check the video out! I’m a fan of story-driven adventure games, though I haven’t liked the “walking simulators” thus far. This sounds more interesting though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GamingPicks says:

      Well, this game is also considered a “walking simulator” (I prefer and use another term, “light adventure”). You won’t find complicated puzzles, but there are some little secrets you can miss and the story and some of the moments are some of the best I’ve played. I’ve already finished the game (near 3 hours), so it isn’t very long, but I’m really happy after playing it… even if it has some really sad moments. But it’s true that I usually like this kind of games. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You streamed only the first 30 minutes to avoid spoilers? I think Atlus would approve. They are restricting what people can broadcast on Persona 5 for similar reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GamingPicks says:

      Well, I think Atlus’ policies were a bit crazy. In this particular case, the game is short, between 2 or 3 hours, and also very story driven, so I thought it wouldn’t be a good idea to stream more. I captured some later moments that I’ll share later this month. I don’t like to spoiler things and this game features some really especial moments. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

