Opening | Full Throttle (1995/2017)

When I was younger I loved LucasFilm / LucasArts adventures games, specially Monkey Island and Indiana Jones ones. Those days I was mainly an Amiga player, and as Fate of Atlantis was the last adventure game released by LucasArts for that platform, I started missing some of their masterpieces, first one being Day of the Tentacle in 1993. So, here I am, years later trying to rediscover those game. Thanks to Double Fine, some of those classic game has been re-released during last years, including titles like Day of the Tentacle, Grim Fandango or, this week, Full Throttle.

Full Throttle was released in 1995 (I still have a Spanish magazine from those days with the game on the cover as you can see above), same year as The Dig, as is a creation by Tim Schafer, with Peter Chan’s art and Dave Grossman helping with the writing. It’s a classic point and click adventure game, with a simplified interface, compared to older adventures games (basically you have four actions). The game’s story follows the steps of Ben Throttle, the leader of a biker gang called the Polecats. He accidentally gets involved with the owner of the last classic motorcycle manufacturer (Corley Motors) and so the adventure begins, where you’ll discovers some secrets behind the company and Curly himself.

I’ve played and finished the remastered edition this week, lasting around five hours. It isn’t a long adventure, but I’ve had a great time with it. Puzzles aren’t specially obscure compared to other games and I find the story interesting.  It probably isn’t featured as one of the best adventures of LucasArts (which also are some of the best games ever), but was exactly the kind of game I needed after beating a massive game like Horizon past weekend.

I also find the remastered graphics nice, retaining the feeling of the original game. Here you can see some comparisons:

The game also has some extras, like the option to play it with creator’s audio commentary and a concept art gallery, something that I always like to review. Here some examples:

And now, here you can enjoy the opening of the game, with a great initial speech by Ben, including the already classic “Whenever I smell asphalt, I think of Maureen”:

And if you only want to enjoy the intro credits and the song by The Gone Jackals:

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mr. Panda says:

    I’m a fan of Double Fine and Lucas Arts’ adventure games too, and yet I didn’t know this game existed! Thanks for alerting me to this! This is definitely something I want to try out soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I bought this the other day because I loved the Day of the Tentacle remaster. Right now I am in the middle of fighting the bikers in order to cross the damaged bridge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

