Gameplay | ABZÛ (Multi, 2016)

Buying games knowing almost nothing can be a bit risky (and expensive) but I also remember being interested for a game just seeing the cover… those crazy 80s.  When I first saw Abzû, I was immediately interested on it and decided not to watch more. And to be honest, with some of the talent behind flower and Journey (two games I really enjoyed and that I bought day one) being part of the development team, I was sure it was going to be something special.

And it is. I’ve just finished the game as I’m writing these lines. The game feels surprisingly familiar if you’ve played Journey, more than I expected. The hand of Art Director (and here also Creative Director) is easy to perceive, and there are other common details (game pacing, meditation) that clearly remind of that previous work. Austin Wintory’s haunting music is the final touch that accentuates that feeling. Apart from that, it also has some flower touches.

But honestly, 4 years later, it’s great to find another game like this even if isn’t 100% original. The game plays wonderfully and the feeling of being under water is amazing. It has breathtaking moments continuously and I often had to stop just to enjoy the view, the game is spectacularly beautiful.

The game has taken me a little more than two and a half hours to finish, but I think I’ve made some parts a bit too fast and haven’t find all the secrets. Certainly, I will play it again. So, with that lasting time, you can find it a bit expensive (it’s around 20 $/€, it was a bit  cheaper pre-ordering). I find it a bit less emotional than Journey (that game really touched me) and doesn’t have the original online aspect that made so special sharing the journey, but I think it’s a great game, beautiful and relaxing, and if you liked similar games, you should give it a try.

Here you can enjoy the first 15 minutes of the game, but I think it’s a game to play knowing and watching as little as possible:

 

BONUS – FULL PLAYTHROUGH

As I commented in previous games, I usually don’t upload full playthroughs (specially because I don’t make any voice-over and will probably look a bit boring), but I made an exception with Journey and I’m making again with this game. I streamed the game live, to be sure to capture all the unique moments without being to worry about recording (even if quality is a bit lower than the previous video). Here you can find my complete journey through the ocean:

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

8 Comments Add yours

  1. itsonlyleggy says:

    Looks very interesting, The kind of game I’d really enjoy playing. But if you finished it in around 2 and a half hours, the price seems a little steep. I’ll be putting this in the “maybe” pile, I think!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Astro Adam says:

    I had no idea that some of the people behind Journey had already made a new game. Wonderful news! I’m especially excited because this game has under water gameplay, which is something I love and find relaxing.

    You’ve done a good work showing off the game’s beauty. Thank you for also mentioning that we should know little about the game before we start playing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GamingPicks says:

      Thank you for your kind words! Yes, the game is really relaxing and beautiful and you to can calmly enjoy every little detail and animal you find. About knowing little, that’s my position right now with almost every game, I enjoy a lot more discovering them by myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks very pretty. Shame about the lack of an online mode because for me that really made Journey special.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GamingPicks says:

      In some parts, the game is stunning, with beautiful combination of art and music. But yes, it lacks the special moments Journey’s online delivered. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

