Gaming Picks 2015 Recap

Another year comes to an end and here I am, trying to write my very personal gaming year recap. It has been a good year, even if I have had less time than usual to play game. Last months I tried to focus more on what I play and I hope to mantain the trend next year. Overall, I enjoyed more focused games (especially, as you’ll see later, decision making based adventures), like Until Dawn, Life is Strange or Tales from the Bordelands, and have some problems with big massive titles like The Witcher III: Wild Hunt or Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain. Fortunately, I was able to play properly Bloodborne, but I still have to finish it (I’m not very good at it… but love “suffering”). Even if most of the titles were released in 2015, some weren’t, this is about what I’ve played this year.

Statistics
  • 76 Videos published in YouTube Channel. I was going to publish a little feature with this post but, as usual, not enough time | More than 45.000 views (a bit less than previous year)
  • 62 Blog Entries (Including this one) | More than 3.900 views and 1.350 visitors, a big jump compared to previous year so a big thank you!
  • 91 Games Played, 40 of them for the first time
  • Only 18 games finished, some of them remasters (loved playing again Journey, Uncharted Trilogy or Tearaway)
Most Played Game

This year I’ve returned to my usual trend of sports and driving games being more played. DRIVECLUB is the number one. The continuous release of new content (both free and paid, including amazing Bikes expansion), events and new improvements have made me play it weekly. On the second place, a football game, Pro Evolution Soccer 2015 (I usually don’t buy yearly, even if I like football games). And closing the podium, one of the best games of the year, Bloodborne.

Biggest Surprises

I started the year with Valiant Hearts and absolutely loved it. It was a really great game, with some simple puzzles, beautiful art and great history details. Well, and one of the best endings I’ve played in a long time. Rocket League was released as part of the PS+ offering during Summer and has become one of most played online games of the year. I was reading great impressions before its release, but no one could predict such a big success. The game (which I’m playing a lot lately) is incredible simple but really addictive. Finally, Until Dawn was also released during Summer after a long development (started as a Move game for PS3) and what we got was one of the best (if not the best) decision making adventures ever, combining usual mechanics with slasher movie topics, great graphics, good scares and choices that matter.

Best Games Played

As I’ve said before, decision based adventures have had a bit weight on my gaming time, so this is shown in this list. Tried to be selective and I think I played some really good games this year. This is my little selection, in alphabetical order:

  • Bloodborne
  • Life is Strange
  • Rocket League
  • Tales from the Borderlands
  • Until Dawn

Special Mentions:

I finished almost all the games of the list, just have to finish Bloodborne and The Talos Principle… well, and you can’t properly finish Rocket League xD.

If I’ve to select just one, it would be Bloodborne. The mix of great gameplay, beautiful art and haunting soundtrack is unbeatable. I also love how the world is designed, not exactly open world, not massive, but dense, intrincate and natural. They also added recently a big DLC, The Old Hunters, I still have to try it, so Bloodborne will still be important for me during 2016.

Life is Strange caught me by surprise. I  knew little about it, references were good but never expected to enjoy Max and Chloe’s story so much. It also certainly has one of the best song selections of any game this year. And when I thought that Telltale Games was easily surpassed by Until Dawn and Life is Strange, I played Tales from the Borderlands. Even if it follows the same formula, the writing (incredible funny) and the characters (best ensamble of the year) make this adventure a must play, one will have you playing non stop during 10 great hours.

About special mentions, Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture and The Vanishing of Ethan Carter are really special games, many people don’t like them. Objectively Ethan Carter is a better game, but the music, some parts of the story and the landscapes (yes, I still have to finish the video) of Rapture, make it something that you’ll never forget. I recommend both. Finally, The Talos Principle is a really original (and a bit hard) puzzle game that makes you feel great with every puzzle you solve. It was a bit expensive at launch, but now you can find it half price.

I’ve excluded Tearaway Unfolded because I already played Vita version in 2013 and this being a port on its base, but I would recommend it to anyone who had a PS4, especially if you can play with kids (helping them, some parts are really hard).

There are two big titles that I’ve actually played but are missing from this list. I didn’t have enough gaming time and had to focus and stop playing some massive games, like The Witcher III: Wild Hunt or Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain. To be honest, I love the massive world and story of The Witcher III, but wasn’t enjoying its gameplay too much, didn’t liked fighting mechanics and find loot and menus a bit confusing. I will give it another chance in 2016 and it could probably appear here in next year’s post. And Metal Gear Solid V is the opposite case, great gameplay but after 10 hours (didn’t like the opening) I stopped playing, don’t know why. I always wanted a more open Metal Gear, I dreamt how could been and I will return soon, hope I’ll finally enjoy it because I love the saga.

There are other games I still have to finish, like SOMA or Axiom Verge, great but I still can’t have a proper opinion, to be honest. I haven’t played Batman: Arkham Knight (probably in 2016, but I’ve really low expectations after reading some comments), Fallout 4 (I’ve serious doubts about it, probably won’t play it because ) or Rise of the Tomb Raider (waiting for PS4 version, game looks amazing).

Most Viewed Video of the Channel

Even if the new videos had have low view numbers, I continue uploading regularly. Clearly there are a lot of channels and it isn’t easy, more when my content isn’t nothing special , I continue with my style (pure gameplay, no voiceover). The release of Metal Gear Solid V really influenced the views, making this moment from Metal Gear Solid 4 the second most viewed of the channel (and the number one if we take watching time in account):

Most viewed video of the channel (both, this year and historically) is again Naughty Dog Logo’s Montage. Can’t wait to play Uncharted 4:

2016 Expectations

With the delay of some of my most wanted games like Uncharted 4 or No Man’s Sky, new announced titles like Horizon: Zero Dawn (expected for 2016, it could be delayed, it’s a really ambitious game), Japanese games’ return, little great games that come from nowhere and some big 2015 titles pending (Batman, Fallout 4, Rise of the Tomb Raider), 2016 could be an amazing gaming year.

When you list all of them (and even if some games will be delayed or take some time to make localization) you start to notice how massive next year’s lineup is : Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, Dark Souls III (still have to buy second one), Persona 5, new Ratchet & Clank (looks like a movie, love its gameplay), The Last Guardian (can’t believe I’m writing this xD), Horizon: Zero Dawn, Gravity Rush HD and Gravity Rush 2, New Everybody’s Golf, Deus-Ex: MankindDivided, Final Fantasy XV (serious doubts about this), Star Ocean V, Mass Effect Andromeda, No Man’s Sky, Far Cry Primal, Rime, What Reamins of Edith Finch (Giant Sparrow), Abzu, The Witness, Street Fighter V, Dreams (Media Molecule)…

A lot of games, probably won’t play all of them (it’s impossible for me right now), but certainly a lot of them will be part of this blog during following months. I hope to enjoy them and that you’ll enjoy what I’ll share here. And of course, as at all the post published today,

Happy New Year!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy new year! I too enjoyed Valiant Hearts, Until Dawn, Bloodborne and Tales from the Borderlands. Rocket League is a good example of how PS+ can give a title lots of good exposure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

