Gameplay | Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare (Multi, 2014)

During last two weeks I’ve been trying to focus on what I play, I think I was getting lost with all the backlog (yes, I know, first world problems) and not properly enjoying the games. I also have prioritized playing games instead of being worried of capturing videos and sharing them (trying to optimize the little time I have to play games) and decided not to buy games like Fallout 4 or Battlefront right now (the latter also because I wasn’t playing online lately).

I’ve returned to Bloodborne and I’m enjoying it more than ever, certainly is one of the best games I’ve played this year. Going deeper into de Forbidden Woods has been an amazing experience (even if I hate snakes… almost as much as spiders xD). I also started Tales from the Borderlands and loved every second of the first episode and certainly will share some moments here later. And continue playing The Talos Principle, a game that is surprising me more and more and makes you feel great with every puzzle you solve.

And here comes a little contradiction. As I’ve said, I wasn’t playing online games a lot, but I found that I had a game that played very little, Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare. It was released past year, first on Xbox One and later on other platforms. The game was given away during first PSX past December, but only tried “Garden Ops”, not even a multiplayer match. I decided to give it a chance last weekend (before deleting it) and suddenly I was enjoying every single match, probably because it’s third person (yes, you can play Battlefront in third person also, but isn’t the same) but also because it’s a bit less frantic than usual shooters. I think that was the reason I was addicted to Uncharted multiplayer in the past.

The game is a classic shooter, with different classes you can level up in both sides, Plants or Zombies. I really like the differences between classes and also how beautiful the game looks, with a cartoony style and great arenas (including free additional ones, I think it’s the best option for shooter to avoid diving gamers, but publishers don’t usually take this route). Frostbite and Unreal are clearly the reference multiplatform engines right now. The game also has a good variety of modes (again, some included later free) inside two big game modes:

  • Garden Ops: a co-operative mode (you can also play alone) where you have to fight against the zombies during 10 rounds.
  • Multiplayer: with variants of classic multiplayer modes, with a funny touch, including Team Vanquish (Team deathmatch, what I mostly play), Vanquish Confirmed (you’ve to confirm deaths, ala Call of Duty), Gardens and Graveyards (similar to Battlefield’s Conquest), Gnome Bomb ((I’ve to try this), Classic Team Vanquish and Classic Gardens and Graveyards (same as before, but without customization), Mixed Mode (mixing previous modes, changing every match), Subordination (classic gameplay with three zones to capture) and Taco Bandits (similar to capture the flag)

Here a match I recorded yesterday, I’m not a great player, but I think that things went well here:

One Comment Add yours

  1. Particlebit says:

    I’ll need to check it out, as I am a fan of the original game as well as Peggle (too addicting)

    Like

Leave a Reply

