Gaming Picks Pre-E3 2015 Feature (Part 2 of 2)

Link to Part 1

Already Announced Games

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

From a very personal point of view, PS2 generation was marked by Grand Theft Auto and PS3 generation by Uncharted. Along with Bloodborne, this was my most wanted game for 2015, so the delay was a bit disappointing (but I understand they want to deliver the best game they can). During E3, Naughty Dog will probably show a new demo, more spectacular than the one they showed during PSX (I’ve seen a bit of that and I love the fact they showed a pure gameplay demo without spectacular, and scripted, set pieces, a risky move). Making a big effort, I’m not going to watch it, want to play the game knowing as less as possible, like I did with The Last of Us.

To make the wait more easy, Uncharted Trilogy Remastered ir rumored to be released next fall. Even if it hasn’t online, a 1080p/60fps version of the first three games with photo mode will be a day one buy for me if the price is right (I still have to buy The Last of Us Remastered because I find it a bit expensive).

Related Content

 

Scalebound

Unfortunately, I don’t think I will play this game in a short time, but a Platinum Games RPG with dragons? I really want to see that. I expect a full reveal after last year announcement and it will certainly be one of the best moments of Microsoft E3 conference and a game that surely makes people want to buy a Xbox One.

 

Ratchet & Clank Redux

The game was announced along with the movie past E3 but nothing has been shown yet. It’s going to be released in April 2016 and gameplay reveal has to be during this year’s conference. I started enjoying this saga on PS3 (with first to games, Tools of Destruction and A Crack in Time) and after that I’ve started playing classic ones. I know this new PS4 game shares story with the first one (which I find great, with a less refined gameplay, obviously), but with a lot of changes, bigger and new planets and completely new graphics.

Related Content

 

Rise of the Tomb Raider

The controversial Xbox exclusive (we’ll see if it’s temporal and for how long) will be a key point during Microsoft conference. It’s one the big fall games and last title was surprisingly good (perhaps, a bit long/repetitive at the end) and a complete success. I expect to see gameplay for the first time and I imagine this game similar to the previous one but bigger and expanded, with spectacular graphics and set pieces. Chances are that is going to be a great game and if it finally releases on other platforms next year, I hope to enjoy it.

Related Content

 

Rime

Later on this (long xD) feature, I will speak about those little great games that they’re gaining weight in the industry, and probably Rime could fall in that category. But since it was revelead, almost two years ago, this is one of my most wanted titles. The development is taking some time, developer Tequilla Works talk recently about some problems with Unreal Engine 4, but also about Sony giving them all the time they need to make a good game. The game promises an exploration adventure, without combat and with beautiful setting, influenced by Mediterranean light and artist like Soroya, Dali or Chirico. And they still are surprised when the game was compared with ICO….

Gears of War

Another Xbox exclusive, already announced but we haven’t seen anything. Developed by a new studio but with part of original team’s DNA, this is another game to follow closely. With a 2016 expected release, this year the will probably reveal the story and the setting with a trailer, along with the original Gears of War Remastered Edition announcement for this Fall (this is one of the worst kept secrets in the industry).

 

Persona 5

It’s great to see this kind of titles getting a lot of attention and I would love to see Sony dedicating part of the conference to this game. I expect new information and some bad news, the game will be probably delayed to 2016, at least in the West (it was announced for this year in America, nothing has been said about Europe).

 

Mass Effect

Electronic Arts teased the game last year, but this is another game we know very little about. I’ve always liked space adventures so what I expect is a massive adventure / RPG where I can explore different planets freely. Maybe, my expectations are a bit high, but I hope this game delivers.

Related Content

 

No Man’s Sky

I don’t know how the game will be at the end, but just for the ambition of a small studio like Hello Games and for fulfilling one of my childhood game dream’s (travelling through space and landing in planets), this title caught my attention since it was revealed for the first time in the infamous VGX in 2013. We have already seen a lot of videos, but we are not sure what the game starts and we find ourselves in the outside part of that big universe. Even with those doubts, it’s a first day buy for me.

 

Gravity Rush 2

Announced in 2013 TGS, there hasn’t been any information since then. One thing is clear, the game will be released in PS4, not in Vita like the first one (well, originally, first one was PS3 title). We also can expect a remaster of the first game for PS4. I enjoyed Kat’s first adventure, even if I had some problems with controls and cameras. A sequel with some gameplay refinements and the beautiful art of the game along with PS4 power can make this game one of the best things out there.

Related Content

 

Small Titles, Great Games

Smaller titles have been gaining presence with the success of games like Journey. This year I will follow news regarding already announced titles like Alienation, The Tomorrow Children, Shadow of the Beast, Abzu, What Remains of Edith Finch, Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture, Galak-Z, The Witness… and a lot more, while more will be announced.

 

Other Games

The list is too big to detail everything. Games like Star Wars: Battlefront will have a great presence (love the saga, but being almost online only downplays my hype). It will be strange to see Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain trailer without Kojima on stage, but times change. I want to know more about games like WiLD, Kingdom Hearts III, Forza MotorSport 6 (can’t wait to see day/night and weather implementation), Doom, Everybody’s Golf, Street Fighter V, Criterion Games project, Need for Speed, Final Fantasy XV (already confirmed to have just a trailer and a demo update), Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate (not really excited with first reveal, but we’ll see).

I think we’ll see games like Resident Evil 7, Quantic Dream’s new PS4 game, Dishonored 2, new Rare (not Kinect) game, the rumored SCEJ RPG … revealed sooner or later (maybe not at E3, but this year). And I still I’m waiting for a possible DRIVECLUB Season 2.

 

As I always say, a lot of different games I expect to enjoy and share here. Hope you liked this two part feature and thank if you have reach this point ;-).

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m psyched for Persona 5. Shame that Tomb Raider is not coming to the PS4, as I would pick it up.

    Like

    1. GamingPicks says:

      Yes, can’t wait to know Persona’s final european release date. About Tomb Raider, everything points to a temporary exclusive (probably, 6 months), but we’ll see. I really enjoyed 2013 Tomb Raider, just thinking about playing Uncharted Trilogy this November, Uncharted 4 next March and Rise of the Tomb Raider in June 2016… Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

